Basketball World Cup 2014 Pool

Basketball World Cup 2014 Pool

Basic Information

Progress: finished

Players: 72

MyFairBet Admin



Basketball World Cup 2014 is here! Use this opportunity to play the pool with us, or organise your own office basketball pool with your collegues.

Dear sportsfan, you are just a few clicks from taking part in our 2014 Basketball World Cup tipster tournament! All you need to do now is:

How Myfairbet works-new-banner.jpg

By joining us you have also the unique opportunity to organise the 2014 World Cup Basketball office pool in a minute and completely free of charge no matter how many users will participate. The whole process is incredibly simple and takes not more than one minute of your time. You just need to use our smart template and invite your colleagues or friends to play your pool. More information about how to create an office pool for free using our service is available in our blog here.

About 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup

The Basketball World Cup is along the Olympic Basketball Tournament the biggest internationally organized basketball event. It will be played for the first time under the name World Cup, until now it was known and promoted as the Basketball World Championship. The tournament is organized once every four years and this year’s tournament will be already its 17th edition.

The 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be hosted by Spain. This decision was made at meeting of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) in May 2009 in Geneva. There were altogether nine candidates for the tournament hosting and in the final round of the voting Spain won over Italy with 11 votes to 8. For Spain it will be already the second hosting of the tournament, the first one took place in 1986.

The tournament will be held between the 30th of August and the 14th of September in six Spanish cities - Madrid, Barcelona, Granada, Barakaldo, Seville a Las Palmas. The final match, the bronze medal game and half of the matches in the knock-out stage will be played in the Madrid’s Arena Palacio de Deportes de la Comunidad de Madrid with capacity of 15,500 spectators. The Arena was finished in 2005 and the cost associated with its construction reached 124 million EUR. Even bigger Arena in terms of its capacity is the Barcelona’s Arena Palau Sant Jordi (capacity of 16,500 viewers), which was opened in 1990, and where the rest of the knock-out stage games will be played. The only stadium which was built for the purposes of the World Cup is the Gran Canaria Arena in Las Palmas with capacity of 11,000 viewers.

Participants of the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup 2014

A total of 24 countries will attend the 2014 Basketball World Cup. Spain had qualified automatically as the host country, USA had qualified as the winner of the Olympic Basketball Tournament in 2012, three participants (Angola, Egypt, Senegal) had advanced from the African Championship, four (Mexico, Puerto Rico, Argentina, Dominican Republic) from the American Championship, three (Iran, the Philippines, South Korea) from the Asian Championship, six countries (France, Lithuania, Croatia, Slovenia, Ukraine, Serbia) had qualified from the European Championship, two countries (Australia, New Zealand) from the Oceanic championship and four countries (Brazil, Finland, Greece, Turkey) had been awarded a wild card by the organizers.

During a draw held on the 3rd of February 2014, the qualified countries had been divided into the following four groups:


1. Spain

2. Serbia

3. France

4. Brazil

5. Egypt

6. Iran


1. Philippines

2. Senegal

3. Puerto Rico

4. Argentina

5. Greece

6. Croatia


1. Dominican Republic

2. Turkey

3. USA

4. Finland

5. New Zealand

6. Ukraine


1. Slovenia

2. Lithuania

3. Angola

4. South Korea

5. Mexico

6. Australia

Before the draw took place, the teams had been divided into six drawing pots, the division was based on their performance as well as geographical and sporting circumstances.

Format of the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup

The tournament is divided into five stages – preliminary round, round of 16, quarterfinals, semifinals and finals. In the preliminary round, each team will play all the other teams in its group, so in total 60 games will be played in the preliminary round. Final ranking in each group will be determined after the end of the preliminary round, based on the following criteria:

  1. Highest number of points earned
  2. Head-to-head record
  3. Goal average on games among tied teams
  4. Goal average on all group games
  5. Drawing of lots

After the preliminary round, 16 teams with ranking 1 to 4 in each group advance into the round of 16, where the following teams will face each other: C3 vs. D2, C1 vs. D4, A3 vs. B2, A1 vs B4, C4 vs D1, C2 vs. D3, A4 vs. B1 and A2 vs B3. Winners of these matches will continue to the quarter-finals where winner of the match C3 vs. D2 meets winner of the match C1 vs D4, winner of the match A3 vs. B2 plays against winner of the match A1 vs. B4, winner of the match C4 vs. D1 plays against winner of the C2 vs D3 and winner of the match A4 vs B1 will face winner of the A2 vs B3 game. Winners of the quarterfinal matches will meet in the semi-finals and semifinal winners will play in the finals for the James Naismith Trophy (named after the founder of basketball), losers will meet in the battle for the third place.

A short history of the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup

The first edition of the FIBA Basketball World Cup (then World Championship in Basketball) was held in 1950 in Argentina, which simultaneously became the first ever winner of the tournament. The initiator of the tournament’s foundation was the former FIBA Secretary General Renato William Jones, however, mainly the success of the Olympic Basketball tournament in 1948 contributed to its establishment.

The number of participants in the tournament as well as its format has changed several times throughout its history and the current format is valid since 2006. Perhaps the most important milestone in the history of the tournament was the year 1994, when for the first time also players from the NBA were allowed to participate in the tournament, which had contributed significantly to its popularity.

The most successful countries in the history of the tournament are the United States (which is also the current winner) with four victories (1954, 1986, 1994, 2010) and former Yugoslavia (1970, 1978, 1990) and the Soviet Union (1967, 1974, 1982) both with three victories. The tournament have so far managed to win only 7 countries, apart from the already mentioned it was Serbia, Brazil and Spain.

The next World Cup will takes place only in 2019 (in five years instead of four), so that the tournament for the first time since 1967 does not overlap with the football World Cup. It will also be attended by the so far largest number of teams – 32. Hosting country of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 is not yet known and will be determined in May 2015.

Source of illustration picture: © Mariano Pozo Ruiz -

Win Rate

« Back to all players




Log in to Myfairbet

Forgot your password?